Skip to main content

Nature, Space, and Politics

Liaison Faculty Members

Matilde Cordoba Azcarate, Communication
Elana Zilberg, Communication

Faculty Group Members

Matthew Vitz, History
Nancy Postero, Anthropology
Keith Pezzoli, Communication
Fernando Dominguez Rubio, Communication
Christo Sims, Communication
Chandra Mukerji, Communication
Gary Fields, Communication
Nancy Kwak, History
Ameeth Vijay, Literature 
Marik Stern, Sociology
Lilly Irani, Communication
David Pedersen, Anthropology

Graduate Student Members

Sofia Lana, Anthropology
Amy Kennemore, Anthropology
Samuel Gafney, Communications
PaulaSanta Rosa, Communications
Elizabet Weiring, Communications
Kerry Keith, Communications
Akshita Sivakumar, Communications and STS
Veronica Uribe de Águila, Communications & STS
Poyao Hung, Communications & STS
Kevan Aguilar, History
Kevan Malone, History
Alan Skelton, Visual Arts
Matt Guzzo, Visual Arts
Dorothy Howards, Communications
October Montoya, Communications
Riley Taitingford, Communications
Jose Lumbreras, History

Goals and Themes

Building on ongoing interdisciplinary discussions enabled by two consecutive International Institute Faculty and Graduate Working Groups - Cities, Space and Politics (2018) and Nature Space and Politics (2019) (report below)- our group convenes around a shared interest in the spatial politics of discourses, imaginations and scientific interventions made in the name of nature. Organized under the same name as last year, Nature, Space and Politics, and expanding our interest in urban settings, we focus on:

  1. the intersections of ecological thinking with urbanism and the built environment through an ethnographic and historical lens;
  2. the ways in which popular struggles over land are translated in ecological questions in late capitalist societies; and
  3. the formation ofscientific techno-utopias and spaces of experimentation about the future in the face of climate change.